top of page

Bye-Plane Dev Blog 3 - *Insert engaging title here*


Well hello there, my name is Nathaniel Jones and I am the programmer for the team.

Now I've been told by my teammates that I have to write one of these blogposts every once in a while to basically talk about all the things I've done during this project.

Buuut the big clincher is I have done a lot of things and I have a very small word count to write with, (which I'm totally wasting right now). So that being said, let’s start with what I've done recently, which is...

NPC DIALOGUE \(•O•)/ Wooooo~

One of the major criticisms we had from the very beginning of the project was the lack of life in the world, we initially solved that by adding a few animals here and there.

But then, suddenly we had a whole world full of sheep that didn't do anything other than bounce around being useless, and we, as upstanding designers, had to fix it.

Another early complaint was that the world didn't have any side objectives, so rather than create a whole new set of mess to deal with, in human npcs, we merged the dialogue with the animals and now we have a whole bunch of talking sheep that bounce around being useless...

Good job guys.

But while talking animals was a fun novelty for a while, we soon learned from our big testing phase was that NO ONE READS STATIONARY TEXT!!!

So to make the text engaging enough for people to actually want to read it, I took a page out of Nintendo's big book of game design, and tried my bestest to make it as lively as possible.

Right now the speech bubbles grow and shrink and the text writes itself. It may not sound like much of an improvement but it makes a big difference.

Woops I used too many words, so I better sign off for now.

See ya'll next time.

-Nathaniel Tyler Jones

P.S if you haven't already, play our game, you could even leave a comment. The link is below.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page